External Storage Solution - NAS, Networked RAID drive, or just and external encl

Network_Noob

Distinguished
Nov 7, 2011
I am looking to increase my available storage space by adding about 6 TB storage capacity in a RAID configuration. I am wondering if I should just stick with an external box, hardware RAID 5 setup, or take the plunge and go the server route. I work with Mac and PC systems, so the data would have to be accessible to both (Currently all of my drives, 5+ TB, are formatted NTFS and I use NTFS-3G on my mac and it works great for interoperability). I have no experience working with servers, and although fairly competent with computers I worry that setting up a server would be quite a large task.

Options:
1). 4 bay HDD enclosure running hardware RAID 5 + 4x 2 TB drives

2). Option #1 + either PogoPlug, network hub, ethernet router, etc.

3). Server such as the HP ProLiant Ultra Micro Tower (other suggestions welcome).

Option #1 would obviously be the easiest route, but I would really appreciate the ability to access files over a network, as well as share files with people located remotely. I have been reading (always dangerous) and have some questions about drives, RAID, and running a server.

First things first - the drives.
-Do I need enterprise grade drives, and does it depend on if I use hardware or software level RAID, as TLER (Time Limited Error Recovery) sounds like a very good thing for hardware RAID, but is it necessary necessary for for software RAID?
I am open to any suggestion of what drives would be recommended based on the application (External Box v. Server).