Help with a phenom 965 build! 2010

the silent

Distinguished
Feb 16, 2010
hi, im in desperate need of a new computer and im seeking help for the build. this is my first build, so please fill me in if ive missed anything.
my budget is around $1000AUS, and the main use will be for music production.
i wont be playing games, so a motherboard with onboard graphics would do. it would also have to be able to handle multiple HDs well.
i already have a monitor and audio interface, so covered there.

this is what im thinking so far:
CPU
AMD Phenom 965
-i dont think i'll be overcloocking, so i figured the extra $20 for the 965 over the 955 would be worth it.
MOTHERBOARD
Gigabyte 785GT-UD3H
-will this suit my needs well?
RAM
4gb DDR3 1600 G-Skill Ripjaws
im after quick ram with low latency that runs well with the mother board ive chosen. any recommendations?
HDD
thinking a couple of caviar blacks for now?
PSU
Corsair HX650
CASE
Antec 300
OS
i guess i would have to go for a 64bit OS to take advantage of 4gb ram?

so thats where im at so far. any help and recommendations will be much appreciated.

thanks.
malcolm.

andy5174

Distinguished
Mar 3, 2009
200MHz will not give you any real life performance gain, so extra $20 is totally a waste!

BTW, all you need is increasing the multiplier of 955 by ONE to reach 3.4GHz without having to change any voltage.

What is the reversion of the MB? Anyway, both version should work as they are all AM3 board.

Nice picks for the rest!

Freakykiwi

Distinguished
Dec 28, 2009
The PSU is overkill if you're not adding a dedicated graphics card and hard drives use very little power.
A case with a bundled 400W-450W PSU would handle this fine.
If you do think you'll add a dedicated card later the case and PSU you've selected will provide a great platform, drop in a 5850 or 5870 and you'll have a stonkin' gaming machine.