Sign in with
Your question

$1250-$1500 Gaming Desktop

Last response: in Systems
December 6, 2009 10:30:13 PM

Hey, guys, let me first off say that this is my first time building my own computer. I don't have a huge amount of hardware experience, but I like to think of myself as fairly competent. :) 

I am a college student majoring in Computer Science, and I'm going to be mainly using this computer for gaming and programming. I don't need to be able to run Crysis at max or even ultra high, mainly because of my budget, but I'd like the highest value, obviously.

So my initial setup was going to look something like this:

Radeon HD 5850 1024MB - $300ish

either
Intel Core i5-750 @ 2.6Ghz - <$200
or
Intel Core i7-920 @ 2.8Ghz - $275ish

either
Asus P7P55D Motherboard - $150ish
or
Gigabyte P55-UD4P Motherboard - <$175

Crucial 4GB DDR3 1333 RAM - <$100

Samsung 750GB 7200 RPM SATA Hard Drive - <$75

(Some kind of) CPU Cooling Unit since I plan to overclock - <$75

Power Supply - ~$100

Case - <$100

Total WCS Cost: $1200
$ 300 General Expenses

Total Cost: ~$1500

Now, before you start formulating what would be best for me, hear me out. The main reason I chose the 5850 was not for its performance so much as my intention to (much later on so as not to include this in my expenditures) purchase an additional 5850 down the road and crossfire them. Like I said though, that is further down the road, so don't count that in the total cost of the machine.

The reason I am mentioning this right now is because, if I am correct, the dual 5850s crossfired together will not work with the P55 chipset that both of my chosen CPUs implement. Thus, I'm going to need a new (quality) CPU, which I think means I'm going to need a new motherboard as well.