Sign in with
Your question
Solved

How much is a reasonable price on a ATI HD 5870 today?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
December 8, 2009 2:35:39 AM

I have been chasing the elusive 5870 for almost 2 months to no avail... I'm about to give up and pay an eBay "scalper" for one. How much do you all think it's a fair price to pay? Most auctions end at $510-560. I've seen even more absurd prices on USED videocards! Some sellers in Asia are asking ridiculous $588.00 for OEM cards with no box, accessories or software-- not to mention shipping costs and delivering delay. The Sapphire Vapor-X models are impossible to find for less than $650.00 (might as well buy the 5970 for roughly the same). Having said that, how much do you think I should pay for one right now? (I'm ok with spending around $500.00 and up to $560.00 on a Vapor-X).
Will things get better after xtimas or there is no hope for another couple of months from now? :fou: 

Thanks in advance.

Best solution

December 8, 2009 2:49:14 AM

Newegg has a Powercolor for $426.99 right now: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

If you are itching for one, I'd jump on this. Are you in the US?

They jacked the price up a month or so ago because of low stock. They will start coming back to resellers soon. I got mine JUST before it happened for $389.
December 8, 2009 2:55:17 AM

Wow. It's actually in stock.

Too rich for my blood.
Related resources
December 8, 2009 2:58:00 AM

jay2tall said:
Newegg has a Powercolor for $426.99 right now: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

If you are itching for one, I'd jump on this. Are you in the US?

They jacked the price up a month or so ago because of low stock. They will start coming back to resellers soon. I got mine JUST before it happened for $389.

No, I'm not in the U.S right now, my only hope is eBay. NewEgg does not ship internationally. :( 
December 8, 2009 3:11:43 AM

^ Where are you located?
December 8, 2009 3:12:38 AM