Sign in with
Your question

Filmmaker/Editor Upgrades

Last response: in Systems
December 7, 2009 4:29:10 AM

Hello there!
i'm a student studying Film and am an avid filmmaker.
i'm working in 1080i with Adobe Premiere CS4 and would like to upgrade my computer.
I was wondering what new parts i should buy
to speed up rendering and encoding times (which are currently not so great) on a minimal budget.

my current rig is as follows:
CPU: AMD Phenom II X2 550
Motherboard: ASUS M4A78 Plus
Power Supply: 435 watt i think, its really old and dying.
RAM: 2.5 Gigs DDR2 (2 sticks 1gig, 1 stick 512mb)
Video Card: Nvidia Geoforce 9600 GT
Hard Drives: WESTERN DIGITAL Caviar Blue 160GB 7200 RPM (OS and Programs)
SEAGATE Barracuda LP 1TB 5900 RPM (Everything Else)

i am willing to shell out $30 + tax for a 64 bit Windows 7 with the student discount.
willing to buy the best CPU that is compatible with my motherboard,
slightly willing to buy new motherboard for a new CPU if the price is right.
i really needs more/better ram.
would like to know what Power Supply i should purchase.
I feel my video card is sufficient enough.
My OS hard drive i don't need much space on it, since its only for OS and Programs.

i would also like to learn more about Overclocking and RAID if you guys think its necessary for me to know.
i'm not an avid PC gamer.

Budget is in the $400 range, give or take around $100.
keep in mind that i can and might sell computer components that get replaced, for maximum use of budget.

thanks again
December 7, 2009 4:47:42 AM

Vaporware said:
Hello there!
i'm a student studying Film and am an avid filmmaker.
i'm working in 1080i with Adobe Premiere CS4 and would like to upgrade my computer.
I was wondering what new parts i should buy
to speed up rendering and encoding times (which are currently not so great) on a minimal budget.

my current rig is as follows:
CPU: AMD Phenom II X2 550
Motherboard: ASUS M4A78 Plus
Power Supply: 435 watt i think, its really old and dying.