Need a good stable PSU, not too expensive.

requiemsallure

Distinguished
Dec 7, 2009
I'm making a new computer and i need to know what would be a good PSU, not too expensive around 200$ if possible, cheaper is acceptable. My current setup is as follows.

XFX 790i Ultra SLI ATX Intel Motherboard - Motherboard

Samsung P2370HD - Monitor

Mushkin Enhanced Blackline 996657 - RAM

Western Digital VelociRaptor WD3000HLFS - HDD

Antec 1200 Black Steel - case

Sony Optiarc DVD Burner or LG Black BlueRay Burner - Disk Drive

Intel PWLA8391GT - Ethernet card

Microsoft Windows 7 Professional 64 Bit OEM - OS

Core 2 Extreme QX9770 - CPU

EVGA 017-P3-1175-AR NVIDIA GeForce GTX 275 - Graphics

Also, I'm kind of new to this, will my current setup work for 64 bit operation?

I forgot to specify, I am trying to look ahead, i would like to SLI this Graphics card eventually, and add more RAM to it.

Solution
Read the whole article...specifically the test setup page
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/radeon-hd-5850,2433-3.html

Intel Core i7-975 Extreme (Bloomfield) 3.33 GHz, 6.4 GT/s, 8 MB L3 Cache, power-saving settings disabled
Overclocked to 4 GHz (25 * 160 MHz)

I dunno why you think PC components use so much power. They don't especially now with 34 and 42 nm processed on everything. Read articles carefully... you're taking total system power numbers and assuming they're power usage for a single component.

1. Modern CPU is never gonna go above 300 watts no matter how much you OC it. In fact, x58 is designed for 130W, P55 95W. Anything over those numbers voids warranty and exceeds the recommended numbers. Also the root of...
D

Deleted member 217926

Have you already bought these parts?? If you have not paid for this yet then DO NOT DO IT. You can do so much better for likely ALOT less money. The Extreme edition processors are a waste of money and that one is already obsolete. Build a i7 system and not a Core based system. It will be alot more powerful.

requiemsallure