$1,700-1,900 NEW i7 future proof desktop, help me pros

omer212

Distinguished
Nov 29, 2009
PURCHASE DATE: towards the end of December
BUDGET RANGE: $1,700-$1,900 before Rebates
SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: 1. Internet 2. Photo editing (large files from an SLR – I’m not a Pro) 3. Games 4. Strong computer with minimal upgrades for the next 3-4years
PARTS NOT REQUIRED: keyboard, mouse, speakers, OS
PREFERRED WEBSITE FOR PARTS: newegg.com i'm open for any other suggestions
COUNTRY OF ORIGIN: NYC, USA
PARTS PREFERENCES: Intel i7-920 with an Asus MOBO, WD/Seagate HD, Fast 3x2GB DDR3 (maybe 2000mhz, only if it’s easy to OC it/max stock speed). Good ATI graphic card with an option for a future crossfire with a Samsung display 20-24”, modular PSU with 80 and above, not sure what should be the power.
OVERCLOCKING: probably the DDR3 to 2000 MHz (is it worth it?), OC rest of the components may/may not be in a year or so
CROSSFIRE: Probably a future upgrade
MONITOR RESOLUTION: Probably will buy the Samsung xl2370 which is 1920x1080
MY BUILDING SKILLS: minimal, last time I built a dekstop, it was a 486 about 10 years ago :) this will be a cool project for me :)
ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: In general, I’m not a big gamer, I want a new desktop, with the newest tech (i7) and would prefer to spend an extra $200-300 for better parts. I’m trying to be as much future proof as possible, and probably will add more ram and another ATI card in the future.

After weeks of research here are my initial picks, I also indicated the % of how confident I am with this particular item.Here is my initial list of items, feel free to reccomend and add things I've might have missed:

CPU: $289 100% Intel Core i7-920 Bloomfield 2.66GHz
I'm 100% about this item

MOBO:$310 80% ASUS P6X58D Premium LGA 1366 Intel X58 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0
I want only an ASUS mobo, previously I thought about the "P6TD Delux" but then this one came out, hopefully will be also upgradeable for an i9.