[Troubleshooting] Windows XP/Vista/7 to USB

polizei144A

Distinguished
Dec 30, 2011
Hello, Tom's Hardware.

Recently i tried something i had never tried before, making a bootable usb to install windows. I am a trainee technician(Hardware Based.) in the SW of the UK, so i thought this would be an easy task to undertake. NOPE.

I used multiple tools, Win2Flash, USB_MULTIBOOT, YUMI, DOS DiskPart, RMPrepUSB, PowerISO and Windows USB/DVD Tool.

same thing everytime, Find ISO(Tried one from Microsoft store etc..) Find USB, Format, Copy and Wallah! its done. Except it's not, because when i go to install windows xp/vis/7 something always goes wrong. When i try to install windows 7/vista i get the same errors "Files are missing" "bootcd\boot\ntfs.sys is missing", the first time i tried to install 7 using Windows USB tool resulted in a BSOD when the 4 orbs come together and make the windows logo in the setup stage.

And everytime i try to install XP, i get to the copying of files stage and then "XYZ.sys or .dll is missing. [Skip - Esc] [Exit Setup - F3]"

I am currently running Ubuntu because this is a family computer and the kids need access to the Internet for reasons. I can virtual machine the ISO's i use and they work fine but i think something is happening in the copying of the files to USB.
I would really like to get an answer and figure this out as it has been 3 days i have spent on this little side project. And like i said above, i am a trainee IT Technician so i have above average IT Knowledge so use all the jargon you want.

Ram DDR3 1333mhz Kingston 2 x 2GB- Tested using memtest 8+ hours no problems
HDD's - Tried using Raid, IDE, and AHCI condifuration, both HDD's are 32bit Transfer enabled.
Processor - AMD Athlon II x2 260 3.2Ghz x86/x64 compatible.

Possible problems:
- Are the programs copying the Files in the wrong way?
- Are the files being copied too quickly?
- Do any Windows to USB programs work?(just a question)

polizei144A

Distinguished
Dec 30, 2011