Sign in with
Your question

Motherboard compatibility

Last response: in Motherboards
June 22, 2010 2:41:32 PM

Hey guys, this is my first time buying parts to build my own computer, and the Motherboard is something I understand the least. Yet it seems to be the most important part. I have no idea how to tell if a certain motherboard will be compatible with a certain configuration, and I'm worried I'll spend my money and time on something that won't work, or even worse break the other parts.

Can anyone give me any tips on how I would figure this out?
for instance, currently I'm pretty sure I'm going to get the ATI Radeon HD 5850 graphics card, and I'm probably going to get the Phenom II X6 1090T CPU. How would I know what a good motherboard would be for this combination?

Does getting intel or amd cpus (or other components) affect what sorts of motherboards i can use?

this is all....so confusing.
a c 435 V Motherboard
June 22, 2010 4:36:41 PM

If you go with the 1090t cpu, you may want to ask the vender to flash the bios for you. Otherwise, be prepared to borrow another am3 cpu or buy an extra one yourself, such as the sempron 140. You can avoid this hassle by choosing the phenom x4 955 or 965 instead. You won't lose that much performance, and save some money in the process. I would avoid paying top dollar for the latest board, unless you will really benefit from usb 3.0 or the new sata 3.0 standard, which is good for ssd's. You can use an add on card later if needed. Budget at least $85 for a decent 650-750w power supply, such as antec or corsair. And go to the motherboard website and check the bios versions if you go ahead with the 1090t. Only a few boards will run it without a bios flash.
m
l
June 22, 2010 6:33:54 PM

Oh I see. Is asking the vendor to flash the bios something that is asked for quite frequently? I kind of need the extra power, as I need it for video editing.