Sign in with
Your question

Best graphic card for laptop

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
December 9, 2009 3:30:59 AM

Ok I am a architecture student and I am currently looking for a new laptop. I have done my research and found out that I need a gaming laptop. The laptop should have a hard drive with 7200+ rpm and a graphics card of like nvidia 7600 I think but my problem is I don't really understand any other graphics card other than that when looking for laptops can somebody please break down what is a higher/ lower grade graphics card than that

More about : graphic card laptop

a b U Graphics card
December 9, 2009 3:54:06 AM

7200+ RPM isn't always fastest, you need to make sure it's the right size so that the arial density and speed translate into speed, some 5400RPM drives are faster than some 7200 for that reason. And really hard drive should be the least of your concerns, they are 5 mins swaps, things like CPUs and GPUs essentially you buy as the focus of the laptop with HDD and Memory easily upgradable.

As for graphics, the 7600 is a very old chip and won't be found in a current laptop.

Essentially for the task at hand something equal to or higher than a Geforce 9600M / GTS250M or ATi Mobile HD3850 / 4650 or higher.

You could use less, but it should be easy to find laptops that combine graphics like that with either a fast dual core or quad core CPU (core i7 being best).
m
l
a c 147 U Graphics card
December 9, 2009 1:15:44 PM

Yeah you will want to watch the CPU and GPU of a laptop as they can't be upgraded.... the CPU can be sometimes, but is a pain.

For gaming a fast Core2Duo would be a good idea. Unless you are willing to dish out TON of cash for a quad or i7.

As far as GPU's, they area 250M/260M GPU's as well as an ATI 4650 and 4870. THe 4870's tend to be REALLY pricy.