New $3000 Desktop Questions

audiomasta

Distinguished
Oct 25, 2009
Hi, I'm relatively new to the whole build your own computer thing, but it's cheaper and gives me some hands on experience with computers.

However I'm quite concerned that some of my parts are incompatible or don't make much sense because of value or price market compared to other parts in my system (for example, cpu bottlenecking)

I'm hoping to use my computer for gaming and multimedia use, but hope to be able to control sound and power efficiency. I'm looking to power a 5.1 speaker system through a reciever and hooked it up to the computer using a HDMI.

Here's my list of parts so far. :D

Chassis: Lian Li - Pc a70fb (I like the minimalistic design and the constraint on using too many LEDS)

Motherboard: Msi - P55 Trinergy (I like the ease of use of overclocking and the new sound standards, even if it hasn't already come out ((pricey))

Cpu: Intel - Core i7 860 (It fits a 1156 socket and isn't too pricey)

Graphics: Ati - Radeon 5850 (Sounds like a good price point for a DX11 card)

Memory: Ocz - Obsidian 2 x 2GB DDR3 1600 (Apparently meant to be quite good value)

SSD: Samsung - 256GB SSD (It's a large investment but hopefully it pays off through os speed/program speed)

Hardrive: Samsung - F3 500GB (A cheap and fast way to store the rest of my data)

Psu: Seasonic - x650 Gold (Again, a very reliable and efficient psu)

I am looking to overclock but don't want to push my fans too hard as I hate fan noise.

If you find something that might not work or doesnt make much sense, please point it out for me or send me in the right direction.

Any help is gladly appreciated.

P.S I've heard that post-manufactured graphics cards do not have power saving abilities, is this true?

Solution