Newbie looking for what to buy first

mccasco

Distinguished
Feb 18, 2010
Hello,
I'm pretty new to the whole computer gaming deal and so I am currently slowly upgrading my slimline HP (s3407c).

I already got and installed a low profile GeForce 9800. The rig has a 160W internal PSU and and a 200W external PSU. I am now looking at what to upgrade next. one of my friends (a lot more computer savvy than me and is helping me with the putting of it all together) just got a AMD X4 940 am2+ but is looking at a different, better processor and will give me the hardly-used 940 for $140. We checked and it supposedly would work on my pc. It would be going from an AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual-Core 4800+ 2.5GHz to an AMD X4 quad-core 940 am2+ 3.0GHz. But I also know that I need more RAM. I currently have 2 1GB sticks and could upgrade to 2 2GB sticks.

So, in short, should I upgrade my CPU from AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual-Core 4800 to an AMD X4 940 or should I upgrade from 2gb ram to 4gb ram (which of the upgrades would give me the most performance boost?) sorry if this is lengthy, I just wanted to make sure y'all had the information needed to give me the best answer you could.

Hellboy

Distinguished
Jun 1, 2007
personally..

replace the case with a new case which will hold a proper atx motherboard or micro atx.

your fighting a losing battle with this hp slimline as the case is its limitations.

get a board to go with it and then you can get your ultimate goal and go for a phenom 2 x4.

I really would sell this old hp and move on.

mccasco

Distinguished
Feb 18, 2010