Sign in with
Your question

Help with "overclocking" Memory

Last response: in Overclocking
May 30, 2012 9:44:14 PM

My new build has 2 sticks of 4GB Corsair Memory clocked at 1600Mhz. When i went into the bios it says its only clocked to 1333Mhz. I tried to clock it to 1600Mhz but when i started it back up it says "failed to start up due to overclocking" and resets the memory back to 1333Mhz.

I am new to overclocking and would like to know how to solve this. Thanks!

Processor: AMD FX-4100

Mobo:Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3

More about : overclocking memory

May 30, 2012 10:03:36 PM

I actually ran into this same issue on a friends system. His computer is identical to mine except for hard drives but when I try to change his BIOS setting for the correct Mem speed I get the same message. I have yet to figure out why his system gets this and mine does not.

Mobo: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

Flare
m
l
a c 150 } Memory
a c 105 K Overclocking
May 30, 2012 10:28:02 PM

You should be able to set the speed, timings and voltage in BIOS.
m
l
Related resources
May 30, 2012 10:34:41 PM

I think that is what both emoney and I are having problems with. When we change the setting in BIOS to the correct setting of 1600 the computer states "failed to start up due to overclocking" The RAM installed in the motherboard is 1600 so it should accept the settings unless there is something more that is needed.

Flare
m
l
a c 150 } Memory
a c 105 K Overclocking
May 30, 2012 10:48:08 PM

If speed, timings and voltage are set correctly in BIOS and the RAM is on the motherboard's QVL then you should RMA the memory.

A BIOS update can sometimes help with RAM compatibility.

QVL for that board here.

http://download.gigabyte.us/FileList/Memory/memory_ga-9...
m
l
May 30, 2012 11:12:17 PM

Flareside said: