Sign in with
Your question
Solved

DAW/Mainstream PC with possibility to upgrade in the future

Last response: in Systems
December 9, 2009 12:52:17 AM

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: After the Holidays (i.e. January 2010)

BUDGET RANGE: $550-675 U.S. dollars after rebates

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: I’m a musician so this will mostly used as a DAW with ProTools 7.4 (upgrading to PT 8 later) and Finale 2010 notation software. I’ll also be doing a bit of video editing with Pinnacle Studio 14 (nothing huge just short ~5-10 min. video clips), and finally a bit of graphics work with Blender3d, GIMP, and Inkscape. For those familiar with PT I typically don’t tend to use Virtual Instruments or many plug-inS.

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: Keyboard, mouse, monitor, sound card (have PCI card), External HDD, CD/DVD drive, PSU - Antec Earthwatts EA500 (500W), OS - WinXP Pro (32-bit) SP3 (will upgrade to Win7 later (64-bit? if possible))

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: newegg.com
COUNTRY OF ORIGIN: U.S.

PARTS PREFERENCES: Mid Tower-Case, I would like to use an Intel dual-core CPU and an ASUS or Gigabyte ATX mobo, In terms of Ram I’m looking at 3 or 4 GB of name brand RAM (though I’ve read conflicting views as to whether or not 4 GB’s can actually be used with WinXP 32-bit), QUIET graphics card with DX 10 and OpenGL 2.1 support, one internal HDD for OS and software

OVERCLOCKING: No
SLI OR CROSSFIRE: No

MONITOR RESOLUTION: 1440x900

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: Since this is mainly a DAW I need it to be as QUIET as possible. Lastly, and I have no idea if this is even possible, but I’d love to upgrade the OS and CPU for 64-bit support later, but like I said don’t know if that’s a possibility.

Parts I’ve been looking at: (Please give your opinions of what’s listed and make suggestions)

Case
COOLER MASTER Sileo 500
Antec Sonata Elite

MoBo
ASUS P5Q Pro
GIGABYTE GA-EP45

Graphics
ASUS EN9600GT SILENT/2D/512MD3 GeForce 9600 GT
GIGABYTE GV-N96TSL-512I GeForce 9600 GT