Sign in with
Your question

Safe overclock settings?

Last response: in Overclocking
May 31, 2012 4:18:47 PM

So about 2 months ago, I started playing around with oc settings.

My stock CPU is a 955BE 125w 3.2ghz and I think the stock voltage is 1.35v?

My ram is kingston hyperx 1333mhz with xmp support of up to 1600mhz

and I'm running 2 GPUS, a gigabyte radeon hd 6850 and an xfx 8800gt

my mobo is an msi 870a-g54

for the 6850, I couldn't get it far above 900/1150, as it would freeze up my computer anytime I tried to play games, so I just left it at that.

for the ram, I was able to oc it to xmp settings; 1600mhz @ 1.672v

for the CPU, I was able to get it stable at an x20 multiplier, 4ghz @ 1.5v

I did do some research before doing this, and all forums said that since the mobo had a 4+1 power phase, it was no good for overclocking; i was suprised I could get it this far

The thing is, when I tried 4.1ghz, it was stable after a night of prime95, so was 4.2

but at 4.3, when running prime95, the entire motherboard blew up on me after 10 minutes. I monitored the settings with hwmonitor and speedfan, and when I glanced at the temps and voltages before it blew up, it said the vcore was at 1.776v even though i set it at 1.5v which I believe is much too high for the recommended settings for the cpu

So I'm wondering, how come the voltage auto adjusts like that even though I specifically set it to 1.5, and what are the optimal settings for oc'ing a computer like this?

I'd be glad to give more information; thanks in advance.

Edit: I forgot to add, my entire motherboard got fried from the attempt at 4.3. I RMA'd it about a month ago, and I'm getting it back tomorrow.
a b à CPUs
a b K Overclocking
June 1, 2012 8:48:26 PM

Hmm... my 8120 does the same thing.
First off did you make sure heat levels were safe?
I think it's just way to high voltage that causes bad things to happend. :( 
m
l
a b K Overclocking
June 2, 2012 1:35:05 AM