Sign in with
Your question

Sata master hard drive and ide hard drive as slave

Last response: in Storage
November 13, 2011 3:13:32 AM

Hello,
i happen to have 2 western digital hard drives and i have my master hard drive as a 36gb raptor drive as the master and i have a 320 ide hd as a slave. the bios sees the drives correctly as the sata is a master and the ide is a slave. when i boot windows 7 it only shows the rapter 36gb sata hd under my computer. under the divice manager it sees both drives though. what can i do to make both of these drives visable. the motherboard is a gigabyte ga-ma69vm-s2. is there a way to make both of them work
a c 260 G Storage
November 13, 2011 11:40:07 AM

Is the drive allocated in disk management?
a c 327 G Storage
November 14, 2011 3:51:22 AM

You appear to have fallen victim to an all-too-common misunderstanding. Master and Slave are settings on IDE drives ONLY - they have nothing to do with SATA. Among the drives in a machine ONE (normally, but not always) is designated as the boot drive with the OS installed on it, and all the others are data drives. The boot drive is NOT the same as a Master device on an IDE port.

Any IDE port can support up to 2 devices, so each of them needs a unique identifier. This is done with jumpers on pins on the back of the HDD, setting to either Master or Slave. The IDE port and data ribbon cable may have one or two devices on it. To be used at all, an IDE port MUST have a Master device on the cable, preferably on the END connector. IF there is a second device on the port / cable, it MUST be the Slave. (The exception to this is to set BOTH devices on the cable to CS (Cable Select), and let the system assign the END device as Master and the middle device as Slave.) So, check your IDE devices and be sure the jumper settings on all are correct.