justenvious

Distinguished
Jun 23, 2010
I can't get my two new sticks of ram to work on my motherboard. I have a p5pl2. I had one stick of 512mb ram then i just bought two sticks of 1gb of ram. When i put both sticks inside they don't work but when i put one stick of ram inside they do work. How do i make it that both of them work?

What modules did you buy? It would be useful to know the specs, i.e., voltage and timings. Once you know the specs, install one module, set the voltage and timings, shutdown the system and install the second module.

justenvious

Distinguished
Jun 23, 2010
I bought the (2X1024) OCZ PC2 4200 platinum Edition Rev 2 ltd. Timing is 3-2-2-8 and is 2.0 volts. Now the thing is that i dont know how to set the voltage and the timings. I'm sorry, i'm kind of new to this.

justenvious

Distinguished
Jun 23, 2010
Okay I disabled the Dram Timing to disabled. I have access to all the settings but I don't know what to do with it. It states
DRAM CAS# Latency [5 Clocks]
DRAM RAS# Prechage [4 Clocks]
DRAM RAS#to CAS# Delay [4 Clocks]
DRAM RAS# Activate to Precha [15 Clocks]
DRAM Write Recovery Time [4 Clocks]

How does this relate to my volts and timing? I can see that it is somehow related just not sure how. Thanks a lot.

If two modules don't run at 5-4-4-15 (the Write Recovery Time can be left alone), then they might not be compatible with your motherboard.

What is the current DRAM frequency? Is it set to 533MHz (267MHz clock)? Use CPU-Z to get that info if you can't determine what it is in the BIOS. There should also be a DRAM voltage adjustment somewhere in the BIOS. The default is 1.8V; you need to increase it to at least 2.0V.

In theory you should be able to run them at 533Mhz (267MHz clock), 2.0V and 3-2-2-8 timings if they are compatible (which I presume you checked before buying them).

justenvious

Distinguished
Jun 23, 2010
Do all these:
DRAM CAS# Latency [5 Clocks]
DRAM RAS# Prechage [4 Clocks]
DRAM RAS#to CAS# Delay [4 Clocks]