Sign in with
Your question

DDR3 MEMORY

Last response: in Memory
Anonymous
a b } Memory
June 24, 2010 12:46:10 AM

I have a I7-930 with Asus p6x58d Premium. The board uses ddr3 memory.
I bought 3 sticks of 2gb =6gb. Somewhere it said it was capable of 24gb?
To me you could only get 12gb with all the slots full. I am a newbie so its probably a dumb question. The board has blue and black memory holders so which ones do you use.

More about : ddr3 memory

June 24, 2010 3:10:48 AM

This motherboard has 6 slots for memory (RAM). If you put 4GB RAM sticks into each of the 6 slots, you get your 24 GB.

You can use both black or blue memory holders, but if you have 3 sticks of ram, you're gonna want to put them in every other holder for maximum speed. So 3 blues, or 3 black.

Hope this helps.
Anonymous
a b } Memory
June 24, 2010 10:39:07 AM

Thanks .I did not know 4G sticks were available . I have the 2g. I read a article somewhere about putting 1or 2 sticks in the wrong slots and the computer wouldn't boot. Also I read an article here on Tom's Hardware
withe the title "Do I really need 6G?". What about 24G?
Related resources
June 24, 2010 1:16:33 PM

Quote:
Thanks .I did not know 4G sticks were available . I have the 2g. I read a article somewhere about putting 1or 2 sticks in the wrong slots and the computer wouldn't boot. Also I read an article here on Tom's Hardware
withe the title "Do I really need 6G?". What about 24G?

Haha no. Unnecessary. Unless of course you make millions and just want to spend money for the fun of it. Then i highly recommend it...because it'd fun. I'm sure all people who do this for fun would love to make a "max" rig. Spend thousands to get that extra 1%...

I can't imagine the pain you'd go through though if one stick was bad. So much testing...
June 24, 2010 2:09:46 PM

I wouldn't go through the trouble of getting 4GB sticks of RAM unless you're gonna be running some crazy programs like photoshop.