qazxcbb

Distinguished
Dec 9, 2009
Hi, i was wondering what static electricity precautions need to be taken when moving old parts to an upgrade rebuild(cpu, motherboard & ram)???
Regards
qazxcbb

Solution
Well, first I would recommend working on a hard surface (table) and chair. Then, to be extra cautious make yourself a static wristband (either browse google for instructions or grab some old wire and be creative) and connect one wrist to the case to keep you and it the same.
Well, first I would recommend working on a hard surface (table) and chair. Then, to be extra cautious make yourself a static wristband (either browse google for instructions or grab some old wire and be creative) and connect one wrist to the case to keep you and it the same.

Solution
Static is really not that much of a factor seriously now. I have built numerous computer without a static wristband and I am an electrical engineer... so I got more knowledge about electricity than most peoples here who are only computer technicians.

The only thing you can really damage with static is the memory module, but now they all got heatsink so it's really not much of a matter. Just be sure to work without a carpet under your feet. What I do too is wearing my shoes and toucing the table I work on before starting.

Still, there is a lot more fears than anything else. One of my friend work for Rio Tinto Alcan in aluminum factory. He travel in a high magnetic and electric field with disk drives in his hands. Not a single of his HDD are dead due to it... you got the picture I guess.

qazxcbb

Distinguished
Dec 9, 2009

That is what i had been lead to believe, so i must assume something else i am doing wrong is causing my working components to stop working when they are put back! Do the cmos & cmos, blah blah, Can a bad unit effect another???? Curious??
Merry xmas & HNY
Regards
qazxcbb

qazxcbb

Distinguished
Dec 9, 2009

They(mobo's) can certasinly be a p i a. Will be doing the wristband j i case.