Sign in with
Your question

Worth waiting for Prices/Performance

Last response: in Systems
December 12, 2009 9:59:16 AM

Ive been building for the past 10 years and i'm well aware of how quickly something become outdated and how annoying it is when u go out and buy a new graphics card only to find that 2 weeks later a better one comes out and urs is 100 bucks cheaper and the new one is the same price. That being said.....

I am looking to build a new Gaming Rig and I am torn on many things. The approximate purchase date would be somewhere between Jan 15th and Feb 15th

I DO plan to overclock but i will prob not run SLI or Crossfire

CPU:
I am going to go Intel, no question, Im looking at the i7 920. The problem i have is that i know the i9 is expected to come out and i dont want to pay more than i need, should i wait till march?

Motherboard:
depends on the CPU obviously, but im looking at ASRock X58 Extreme

Memory: looking at Crucial Ballistix 6gb ddr3 1600 8-8-8-24

Drive: Okay, this is where i am REALLLLY annoyed. SSD or MOVING PARTS? With the announcement of intel's new technology i know the prices are going to drop a lot. If i do go solid state i will only go intel. What i am thinking is the best step for now would be to get a 1TB WD Black and use it later for extra storage

Case/Cooling: Knowing that i am going to overclock, is water cooling going to be worth it? i know there are a lot of mixed feelings on it being worth the money or risky... but i feel like its been out long enough to where it should be very safe if done correctly. I like the Antec 1200, and it DOES have the option for water cooling, but i would like to hear what you guys have to say.

Video Card:
Another ANNNNNNOYING area, Wait for Nvidia's new cards or Go with a Top of the line ATI card?

PSU: Antec tp-750

Optical:Basic Blueray player

Display: 1 or 2 HP w2338h Debranded (i get them dirt cheep debranded at my work)