Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Opinions on overclocking Phenom II x4 955

Last response: in Overclocking
June 8, 2012 1:57:26 AM

I'm a total newb to true overclocking, but I'm stuck on an AM3 system and I can't really upgrade anymore without completely starting over (I think ima wait for haswell). Anyway, here's some specs...

AM3 phenom II x4 955 currently at 3.8 ghz @ stock 1.4V (multiplier at 19.0, no bus speed changes).
Crucial 2x4 GB ddr3 1333 (cas 9, stock timings)
Xigmatek Loki 92mm CPU cooler (with artic silver set in for at least 5 months)
Biostar TA880GB+
Antec EW 430W PSU
HD 6870 lightly OC'd

My current setup has good airflow, good mainboard temps, and is prime 95 stable with 62C at full load, but i want morreee :D .

I tried to OC to 4.0 GHz but it was unstable at stock voltage (1.4V), so I tried upping the voltage a bit, but that didn't help and made temps rise to 66C. Given my system and the info I've provided, what should be my next step? I haven't touched RAM timings or NB frequencies, could that be an issue? My goal is 4.2 ghz, is that reasonable? I don't suppose my PSU could have anything to do with it could it? It's a good one, it's got a total of 384W and 34.5A to throw at the 12V rails. Should I be dropping the vcore instead? That would seem counterproductive to me, but also seems like common procedure? But like I say, I don't know much about OCing.

Any input would be awesome, thanks!

Augray
a b à CPUs
a b K Overclocking
June 8, 2012 2:25:28 AM

Stock voltage is 1.35V not 1.4V. Your temps are also way too high. you shouldn't be going over 60°C Max. 55°C is an acceptable daily temp. Drop the voltage and start over.

There's no reason to do this though as the 955 is a good CPU and the 6870 is a midrange GPU which wont come close to being bottlenecked.

That PSU is really to small for that system. It will work. But you're running it right at its limit
m
l
June 8, 2012 3:57:53 AM

unksol said: