Sign in with
Your question

Please help wierd restart issue!

Last response: in Systems
December 13, 2009 3:02:19 AM

Hey guys

I need some serious help here. Every time I touch the plate where my power button is my computer restarts! I think its caused from static electricity, because its very dry and everything I touch I get zapped.

I have a cooler Master Scout case and an Asus m4a790xtd evo Motherboard!

What is going on?

More about : wierd restart issue

a b B Homebuilt system
December 13, 2009 3:34:34 AM

It sounds like a short. What power supply do you have? Is this a pre-built system?

It looks like you put this under home built, so I'll assume this is your own build.

It appears some component is incorrectly mounted or a wire is loose and is creating a voltage potential across the case. I would guess that a stray wire has grounded itself to the chassis somewhere.

Considering that a touch will restart the pc, I would open the case and look in the front panel area. If you can remove the front bezel, I would do that and follow the leads from the power and reset buttons, whether they are on the top of the case or the front. Follow them back into the case and see if they became pinched in between some metal braces or on a screw.

If nothing becomes apparent, I would then take out components one at a time until the fault no longer occurs.
m
l
December 13, 2009 3:41:02 AM

Thanks for the information.

This problem started when it got cold out and static started in my house.

I have touched the plate many times without incident before and from doing Google searches people have had the same issue with static and restartes. So, I tested it again, and sure enough when I rub my feet on the carpet it restarted. but if I discharge first it doesn't restart when I touch the same area.
m
l
Related resources
December 13, 2009 4:28:33 AM