Closed

Benefit of Dual SSD's in an ASUS P9X79 DELUXE LGA 2011 Intel X79?

Please bear with me folks, I'm relatively new at PC builds and have a question regarding a dual SSD set up. A question as in "Is it possible?"

I'm in the process of a new build, and I recently ordered a 240gb SSD to be used in the ASUS P9X79 DELUXE LGA 2011 Intel X79 mobo. Now, this board has a built in caching feature specific to the X79. It allows a second drive for caching without the support of Intel's Smart Technology. My question is this. CAN I utilize another SSD of equal or smaller storage for this boards caching feature? Would doing this be a benefit to performance?

Several articles demonstrate using a SSD for caching with a large HDD, however I saw this article and wondered how the second SSD was being utilized. (page 2) http://www.pcworld.com/article/243816/how_to_build_a_powerhouse_pc_worthy_of_sandy_bridge_extreme_edition.html

As you may have guessed, I'm going for speed. I appreciate any feedback. I know it can be accomplished with a primary HDD and secondary SSD for caching, but what about the dual SSD idea?

Thanks!
5 answers Last reply
More about benefit dual asus p9x79 deluxe 2011 intel
  1. The use of the second small SSD for cpu caching does not give as much of a performance boost if you are using a SSD as your boot drive. You would see more of a performance boost if your boot drive was a conventional hdd. But that not to say that you cannot or should not use a SSD for caching if your boot drive is an SSD. The purpose of the SSD for caching is to have data ready in an acessable place for the cpu without having to search for it on the hdd , therefore boosting performance. The fact that an SSD is faster to begin with cuts into that performance boost just because it is so fast and it doesn't have to search through hdd platters for the info. So the option is there if you want to take advantage of an increase in performance.