Sign in with
Your question

Heat sink?

Last response: in Components
February 22, 2010 10:58:33 AM

Hello,

My computer has been shutting down on its own ever since I changed my old broken mobo for a new microATX one. Googling, I found that CPU overheating could be a possible cause. Checking the BIOS, I saw that the CPU temp was over 100C and creeped up to 109C before shutting off again.

At the time I was installing, I figured it wasn't too big of a deal, but I was unable to push down all 4 pins on the heat sink - instead, I could only firmly secure 2 adjacent pins. Even with just 2 secured pins, though, it stayed in place pretty well, so I thought it would be alright, but I guess I was wrong.

I'm still fairly new with computer hardware, and this was my first attempt at putting in a mobo, so I was hoping to get some confirmation that this was indeed a heat sink issue. If that is the case, I was also hoping to get some advice on a replacement heat sink that would fit in my microATX mobo.

Thanks in advance.

Current mobo: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

Potential budget heat sink? http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

More about : heat sink

February 22, 2010 11:31:18 AM

Those push-pins are a pain. You could get one of these to re-seat your existing HSF.
-- Remember to clean off the old thermal paste.
-- Replace with Arctic Silver 5.
-- Do not overtighten the nuts, hand-tight then maybe another 1/2 to 3/4 turn - you want the HSF firmly seated, you do not need to warp you motherboard or the CPU.

I've been using this on my Arctic Freezer for about 3 months because the push-pins wore out.
m
l
February 23, 2010 10:33:59 AM

Hiya, thanks for the response and suggestions.

Unfortunately, it looks like the mounting device you linked is currently unavailable on newegg. Would this alternative work as well?

Thanks again.
m
l
Related resources
February 23, 2010 12:42:34 PM

Hold on a sec.