Water cooling

mikebik

Honorable
Apr 25, 2012
i have a amd 3870k fm1 socket and want to overclock it and decided to get into water cooling because of the looks and it keeps it cooler than a fan i hear. i would also want to use a water cool on my vga it is a sapphire 6850 1 gb. i'm a complete noob at what kind of kit that would be good i have a small budget around $200. thank you

Solution
Not sure I would consider the the Rasa 450 RX120, but I suppose if you were going the route of CPU-only, that's a really cheap way to go. Pretty poor pump- even weaker than the X20 used in the 750 kits.

For a small bump in cost, you should really look at one of the better XSPC kits starting around $130 or so...otherwise, maybe sticking to an air cooler is the best choice for you, as I really can't recommend anything less than a Rasa RS240 kit, which would be the lowest rung of the XSPC kits (and lowest cost) that I can say would be a decent buy.
I'm on the phone at work but as soon as I saw your link said thermaltake I cancelled :)
Thermaltake watercooling kits are awful, please avoid them like the plague
I can draw up a custom loop once I get home in the morning but I can't tab browse on the mobile to paste links sorry
Moto

mikebik

Honorable
Apr 25, 2012

LMAO... i see good reviews but i will trust you because you have more experience at this and thank you for helping me!

greenrider02

Distinguished
Dec 18, 2010
It's certainly possible to mod it, but definitely not advised. The system is designed to be close loop, so there isn't really a way of getting in without making a mess. The pump also may not be designed to handle more than the current load. Also, you would have to add another radiator in to handle the thermal requirements of both CPU and GPU.

Motopsychojdn suggested looking at the Watercooling sticky. I concur +1

rubix_1011

Contributing Writer