CPU for 3D apps, Gaming and Programming

shishio

Distinguished
Feb 22, 2010
Hello everyone,

Im a student starting my undergraduate studies in CS and im looking for a desktop configuration that in addition to handling basic university needs will be able to handle 3D Modeling/Editing/Rendering applications (such as 3dsmax, Photoshop etc.), Gaming (latest games on medium-high settings) and Programming.

I would like to hear your professional opinion in regards to which CPU will be most suitable for my needs? im torn between the Core i7-920, i7-860 and i5-750 and i can't decide if the difference in cpu price and the overall difference in system cost justifies the i7-920 or i7-860 over the the i5-750? i know the i5-750 is better in terms of price per performance for gaming (the difference in performance is said to be negligible) but what about 3D Rendering/Editing/Modeling applications (or programming)? any suggestion of any other CPU that might better suit my needs (upto this price range) is welcomed...

I would also like to hear your opinion about whether i should get ATI's HD 5850 video card (or any other GPU from the 5xxx series) right now, or wait till Fermi arrives and prices will be cut down steeply or a better solution from nvidia's side will arrive. Im not sure when nvidia decides to launch its new cards and im starting to get short on time so maybe waiting is not an option anyway...

Any advice and suggestion would be greatly appreciated!
Thanks a lot :)

well for " Modeling/Editing/Rendering", the core i7 920 fits the bill already. The triple channel memory the X58 chipset offers will benefit you the most

As for gpus, thats your choice to wait for the GT(X) 400's (fermi) cards (whether for it or a 5xxx price reduction). although the 5850 is a good card to get. It will play just about any game at reasonable fps.

jonpaul37

Distinguished
May 29, 2008
i'm not so sure that the release of Fermi will prompt the price of the 5xxx cards to go down.