Sign in with
Your question

Advice needed

Last response: in Systems
December 14, 2009 3:33:00 PM

Hi Guys ,

This is my first post here , so please forgive me if i sound like a complete noob , My pc knowledge is somewhat out of date. I am looking at getting a Barebones PC for Gaming and viewing HD content , Ideally , I would to get it so i wont have to upgrade for a few years and that it can play top end games with ease , I am also going to get a Radeon HD4890 1GB Card to put in to my chosen setup. Below is my Current Rig and the two options i am looking at , Any advice will be greatly appreciated.

My Rig

Intel Core 2 Conroe 6400@2.13ghz
MSI P965 Neo Mobo
3GB Non Branded 800mhz RAM ( i think )
Radeon X1950 Pro 512MB GPU

My Choices

Opt1.

CPU: Intel i7-920
MBD: Asus P6T Motherboard
RAM: 3Gb OCZ Gold 1600MHz DDR3 Triple

Opt2

CPU: Athlon Phenom II X4 965, 3.4Ghz
MBD: AM3 / DDR3 / SATA
RAM: 8GB DDR2 1333MHz (4x 2Gb Strips)

Option 2 is £20 more

Thanks in Advance
Dog09

More about : advice needed

December 14, 2009 4:03:47 PM

See the thread "How to ask for new build advice." We need at least a budget...

Bare with the US prices. I have no idea on English equivalents.

You're going to want to get a different GPU. Look at the new ATI HD 5xxx series. With the price range I'm assuming, you should either get a 5770 (~$170) or 5850 (~$300). These will last a long time because they have DirectX 11 support.

Build #1: i7s aren't that good for gaming. You'll be paying a lot more for worse performance. Get an i5. That's possibly the best CPU for gaming available. It also uses dual channel memory, so the only changes in the build are the CPU and motherboard.

Build #2: You're paying extra for nothing if you buy the 965. Get the 955 and save a little bit. The 965 is just a factory overclocked 955.

Mobo: I like to recommend the ASUS M4A79XTD EVO. Here in the States it runs $115-120, and is one of the best values.