Looking for a gaming/video editing graphics card.

rumpleteazer

Distinguished
Dec 14, 2009
I am looking for a card that can function well in both gaming and video editing applications. I have been reading through so many different opinions about gaming vs. workstation cards, but I still can't seem to find a clear answer on what the big differences are. Is there a card that will run applications like After Effects, Photoshop and Avid decently as well as perform well for gaming? I keep running into suggestions for either a gaming or an editing system, but there has to be some sort of middle ground (I hope)!
I am also a student so I am working from a fairly tight budget.
I have a fairly decent system right now that I recently built. It looks like everything will work well, but I am stuck trying to find the right graphics card for me. Help!

<3

Techno-boy

Distinguished
Dec 5, 2008
Radeon HD 5770, Radeon HD 5850 and Radeon HD 5870 are the best choices for gaming and also definitely for video editing. You should not go below Radeon HD 5770 or Radeon HD 4770, otherwise you would not get the best performance for PC games especially games like Crysis, Bioshock and Dead Space. Also, for the moment, ATI is the only video card maker that has next generation DirectX 11, 40nm GPU video cards (Radeon HD 5000 series) which will also support OpenCL which could be future standard Game's Physics engine library. DX 11 will improve your game graphics better than DX 10.1/10 and it will boost the game's speed higher because of tessellation.

But if you are on a budget, then even Geforce GTX 275 (DX 10) or Radeon HD 4770/4850/4870 (DX 10.1) would offer good performance too but you will miss DirectX 11 features and OpenCL for your 3D game graphics.