Sign in with
Your question

Powerful PC primarily for scientific simulation

Last response: in Systems
December 15, 2009 9:12:47 PM

Hi, I am a chemist/biophysicist that needs a new PC. I am a bench chemist but I run a lot of simulations on the side. My main goal is to get great performance with simple C++ programs running purely on the CPU (Monte Carlo simulations) and to also get high end performance with programs running on the GPU (IE, Folding @ Home). I also need the PC to do the usual stuff - office work, watch DVDs, listen to music etc.

I can spend up to $1500 but I really, really would rather spend less than $1300. My tech level is low. I have built one system before but I don't know much about RAID, SLI, water cooling, etc. etc.

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: Probably in January BUDGET RANGE: 1300 or less after rebates

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: Folding @ Home and simple C++ programs going as fast as freaking possible, office work, watching DVDs, etc.

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: I need everything! I only have a laptop now.

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: I probably will buy mainly through newegg.com

PARTS PREFERENCES: I like Corsair power units, and I am partial to Intel CPU's and NVIDIA GPU's because of CUDA (but who knows if I'll ever even use CUDA). I really have no other preference!

OVERCLOCKING: Yes, yes, yes
SLI OR CROSSFIRE: Maybe

MONITOR RESOLUTION: anything 1600x1200 or bigger

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: I run two types of programs: GPU-intensive and CPU-intensive. Right now my laptop is 2.53 ghz intel duo and I am not really getting the speed I need for my CPU simulations. I need a powerful GPU and a powerful CPU. I don't know much about overclocking but I plan on overclocking - I would like over 3.6 ghz.

I don't really know what I need in terms of RAM, motherboard etc. Here's a "sample build" I was looking at (all parts and prices from newegg):

Asus P6T Deluxe V2 LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Motherboard ($218.99 OPEN BOX)