Sign in with
Your question

Asus p5q pro turbo mobo died

Last response: in Motherboards
July 3, 2010 3:12:09 AM

Hi,

I've been running a media pc I built using this board for about 4 months now and yesterday it just died.

There's power to the box because the blue power light is on. There's power to the mobo, because the green light it on. Fans are faning. And I hear the hd start, but no boot. And most importantly, no startup screen.

Any ideas/suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Meantone
a b V Motherboard
July 3, 2010 8:26:06 AM

Any beeps at all?

Clear with the CMOS jumpers and remove battery for 15 seconds too. Check both mobo power connectors. Reseat RAM, GPU too.
July 3, 2010 12:21:55 PM

Thanks. No luck, still stuck. And there's no onboard speaker so this board doesn't beep.

What's really puzzling is that, as a media server, it's been running non-stop for the past 4 months with no issues, then suddenly nothing.
Related resources
a b V Motherboard
July 3, 2010 1:16:12 PM

You could have caught a "power spike" or surge and overvolted either the PSU or mobo. Try a different PSU.
July 3, 2010 3:25:06 PM

Thanks, again.

Just to confirm, since I don't have PSUs lying about, that even though I have power to everthing else (fans, dvd, hd and the green light on the board) it could still be the PSU?

a b V Motherboard
July 3, 2010 3:56:11 PM

meantone said:
Thanks, again.

Just to confirm, since I don't have PSUs lying about, that even though I have power to everthing else (fans, dvd, hd and the green light on the board) it could still be the PSU?