I5 3570k Temps and Ghz

celticnate123

Honorable
May 21, 2012
Build: i5 3570k
z77 extreme4
Asetek 550lc
So im new to the whole overclocking thing but i gave it a try today. I was using prime95 at everything stock and it was maxing at 3.6. This is weird because isnt it supposed to automatically turbo boost to 3.8 not 3.6? Also, another thing that was confusing me was the whole overclocking bios for the extreme4. Can anybody link me a video or post that explains how to OC on it? I was using the turbo30 (ithink its called) for its preset over clocking setting and i was having success but my temps were high compared to what others were getting. At 4.4 i have 60C temp and i have water cooling. I have seen various posts about people going 40C on water cooling at 4.6 Ghz. Is it possible that IBP didn't apply the thermal paste right or they maybe didnt put the cooler on properly? My last question is: Is there anyplace i can get a new back piece for the liquid cooler. It goes on the back of the mother board and the screws screw into it but on mine i cannot unscrew the cooler off the cpu because IBP stripped the plastic when they put the cooler on the cpu. I cannot seem to find a way to take off the cooler with cutting the back piece off or breaking it somehow. Sorry for how long this question is, i just have a boat load of questions because this is my first REAL computer that i want to play around with. Thanks guys!

Solution
That is a lot to answer, you're right, lol.

Anyway, the Turbo "problem" isn't a problem (although something strange IS going on). 3.8 is just max single core Turbo speed at stock. What I don't really understand, is that it should have been 3.5 in Prime 95 because that's max 4 core Turbo speed at stock. 3.6 is actually max 3 core speed.

2nd, I can't really answer your question on OC settings for that board because I have no idea myself. The basics are the same for pretty much any board though. Just find an Ivy OC guide and go from there.