Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Compatibility Issues?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
December 16, 2009 1:25:35 PM

Hey I just picked up this computer from newegg.com and am looking to swap out the (3 x 1GB) base configuration with the memory listed below. I would also like to switch out the graphics car for the one listed below. If anyone could take a second and tell me if you can see any issues. I am relatively new to the hardware side of things and would hate to spend a lot of money on something that is not going to be compatible. Also any redirection with some insight would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

HP Pavilion Elite E9280F(NY558AA#ABA) Intel Core i7 920(2.66GHz) 9GB DDR3 1TB ATI Radeon HD 4850 Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit - Retail
Base-
(3 x 2GB)
(3 x 1GB)
ATI Radeon HD 4850

SAPPHIRE Vapor-X Radeon HD 4870 2GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16
Concerns - Power... will this card draw more power than the base one and can that cause problems. Is this card even any better. I have about $200-$300 to spend on a card.

CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Triple Channel Kit
Concerns - Timing listed is different, along with the speed. I did some research and didn't really get a good feel for what this means. Bottom line will these differences cause issues. Around the same to spend, $300.

All advice welcome, as well as constructive criticism. Thanks Michael,

More about : compatibility issues

a b U Graphics card
December 17, 2009 7:40:33 PM

Switching out the card will not yield much performance gain. I would look into a 4890 1 GB model, its great price/performance. 2 GB would be useful if you play specific titles that need the extra VRAM, such as GTA IV. And while 2gb is nice, it is certainly not a huge issue with current games. If you plan on crossfire, 2gb is a good idea as well.