Overclock i5 2500k. Z77 extreme 4

noobnasty

Honorable
Apr 9, 2012
Hello everyone. This is my first build and i want to ask if you guys can help me overclock.

I currently have Asrock z77 extreme 4 mobo with i5 2500k sandy bridge with hyper 212 fan on it.

This will be my FIRST time overclocking. I was always afraid i might fry something.

IF you can make a video or just screen shots on how to do it i would gladly appreciate it. im looking to OC it up to 4.3

btw, i have a COOLER MASTER 650w power supply. If you need more info let me know please. Thanks a lot for the help~!

Haserath

Distinguished
Apr 13, 2010
All you really have to change is the CPU multiplier and Vcore voltage(CPU voltage).

I would start with a 1.3V vcore and 43x CPU multiplier.

Test stability with something like Prime 95 or Intel Burn Test(I recommend using both). Check temps with Realtemp/Hwmonitor, and check speeds/voltage with CPU-Z.

If you're stable at those settings, just keep lowering the vcore by one or two steps(I recommend two for faster testing) each time until unstable in one of those stress tests in a few minutes. Then bump it up a step or two and test for long run stability.

http://www.guru3d.com/article/core-i5-2500k-and-core-i7-2600k-review/11

The procedure is as follows:

1 Leave baseclock for what it is right now
2 If optional, increase the TDP limit of your processor to 200~250 Watts
3 With a 2600K set your base multiplier at 34 / 33 for 2500k
4 And now set the per core multiplier at a maximum of your liking, we applied an MP of 43 on all four cores
5 Increase CPU voltage, though setting AUTO might work fine, we applied 1.3V
6 Make sure your processor is properly cooled (we used the stock Intel cooler and forced the fan to 70% RPM)
7 Save and Exit BIOS / UEFI

http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1578110
http://www.clunk.org.uk/forums/overclocking/39184-p67-sandy-bridge-overclocking-guide-beginners.html#post110904