First Time Liquid Cooling

umliso25

Honorable
Jun 18, 2012
Hi TH,

I've been following a few liquid cooling threads and checking out what people are doing and it has inspired me to do my own liquid cooling system. I've been building my own PC's for about 6 years, and I am very comfortable modifying hardware to get stuff to fit.

So I am getting rid of my core components of my old build;

Intel Core 2 Quad Q8200, Asus P5P43TD, Apevia X-Jupiter Full Tower

And getting:

Intel Core i5-3550
Asrock Extreme 4 Z77
Case - Corsair 400R

Corsair vengeance 8GB (4x2GB) 1600 MHz RAM
Intel 320 80GB SSD
2x 500GB WD Caviar Blue in RAID 1
Gigabyte AMD HD 6850 (possibly picking up a second).

First off, I need a case. I was looking at a corsair carbide series: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811139009 or the
NZXT Switch 810: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811146089

Any other recommendations? I like a sturdy and roomy case, the inside has to be painted black and I'd like a window, but it's not a necessity.

For water cooling, to begin I'd be likely to start with a simple XPSC Raystorm EX240 or 360 kit to cool just the CPU to begin with, but slowly moving forward to the GPU(s). I've heard good reviews about the Corsair H kits, but I like to learn new stuff and build it myself.

The CPU only loop would probably be something like pump>rad>CPU>res.

My question is, do you guys have any other recommendations for the water cooling system?

Lutfij

Titan
a few questions :) first off, welcome to the forums newcomer!

now:

case wise:
there are alot of options really. Could look into the D series of cases, 800D is the king of the hill for corsair for a watercooling installment. but there alot more like mountainmods and caselabs. depends all on your budget and overal build plan, i.e: external or internal raddage mount.

watercooling wise: