Nager

Distinguished
Dec 17, 2009
APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: I will be ordering in the next couple of days

BUDGET RANGE: $800 - $1000 CDN

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: Games, Movies, Internet, School Work

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: Don't need OS (I am a student with access to Windows 7), keyboard, mouse, soundcard, CD drive

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: Doesn't matter

COUNTRY OF ORIGIN: Canada

OVERCLOCKING: Yes

CROSSFIRE: Maybe

MONITOR RESOLUTION: 1400 x 1050

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: I am looking to build a quiet computer, I am not looking to buy any aftermarket fans/ heat sinks right now. Mainly going to play Grand Theft Auto 4 and COD right now.

Case: ANTEC P183 Performance One Mid-Tower Case $150

PSU: Antec CP-850 $120

GPU: ATI HD 5770

CPU: I am having a tough time deciding between the Phenom II X2 955 and the i5, I on a pretty tight budget so I am leaning towards the Phenom, but for only 25 dollars more the i5 seems to kill it. Will an overclocked Phenom be a bottle neck to GPUs 2/3 years from now?

Mobo: Don't know, *I need at least two PCI slots for my tv tuner, and sound card

HD: What's cheap, fast, and has 1tb of storage?

The only thing that I am certain on right now is the case... this is where you guys come in :D

Edited to be slightly less vague

Nager

Distinguished
Dec 17, 2009

The CP-850 is no longer available on newegg, and I've decided against crossfiring, going to stick with one GPU. I am considering the Seasonic X-650, but it's a bit pricey.

nofun

Distinguished
Nov 5, 2009
For gaming, you would do better to have a slightly less expensive CPU and a better GPU. Look at an AMD build as they are cheaper for the features you get, and then consider dropping in a better graphics card.

The 5770 will be fine at that resolution, but you will probably have to reduce your model detail to get optimal FPS. A beefier card would not go astray.

Nager

Distinguished
Dec 17, 2009