Sign in with
Your question

GTX 285 vs 5850, are either even needed?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
December 17, 2009 2:21:14 PM

I've got a EVGA x58, 920, 1000 wt psu in a smallish Scout Case. I can take a 10.5 inch card. I can do a little mod to the drive cage and fit a 10.75 inch card like the 5850. All the GTX cards are 10.5 and fit perfectly in my current new case. The purpose if this thread is that I'm trying to look around the corner and see if I need to insulate myself with an upfront purchase of a better gpu.

I had a Diamond 5770 that I bought with all the parts. I returned it as I saw numerous low egghead scores about Diamond being total crap in customer service. I hear these higher end GPU Cards tend to need replacement quick till you get a good one as well as just the DOA part once in awhile. So I didn't feel I wanted to invest my $ in Diamond. I'm looking at sapphire, BFG, Evga or other makes that seem to have good CS. (I'm new at this and CS is important)

So I 'm looking around. The Microcenter guy I bought all the parts off of said he preferred nvidia. When I saw him upon returning the Diamond 5770 to microcenter he started steering me to GTX 260-295. He mentioned something about the 5000 series of ati cards (that I remembered reading at least 3-5 times) which was they were performing poorly. People were seeing artifacts or pauses....something. sorry I can't remember i should have probably stopped at "performing poorly". (thoughts on this reasoning for dumping ati 5K from my shopping cart?)

Here is my deal I want to render HD video thus the new i7 920. Over 10 years ago I loved being at lan parties gaming 8-12 hrs away on a saturday. I haven't gamed like that since and I want to get back. Games like Batman, and crysis seem to cover my initial desire to play. It's important to realize I haven't used a computer beyond a P4 with a GPU
card. So I'm going to assume that highest settings are not going to be my initial end all. (thinks so)