Sign in with
Your question

1336 with 4 way SLI and I'm relatively new to this

Last response: in Overclocking
June 19, 2012 6:32:03 PM

So I've decided that it's finally time to get some LC for my build. It's a GA-X58A-UD9 based build with 4 GTX 580s. Now I've had LC in the past, but it was pretty much just the simple CPU + single graphics card loop and I can't really say I'm in any shape to design an LC system for such a rig. Before I get answers telling me it's going to cost me a lot - thanks, I know. I'm willing to dish out quite a bit for this project, though I'm not looking for any suggestions that are ridiculously priced.

Before any suggestions start I'm leaning very much towards any blocks (or anything else) from EK waterblocks as they're easy to get (I actually live pretty close to EKWB) and anything else would probably require me having to do purchases outside my country.

The main problems I'm encountering is that I have no clue how to handle both cooling the liquid going through the cards (and potentially the CPU too, although I have decent air cooling on it now) and how I would even get normal flow through so many blocks and rads. Being inexperienced as I am, I'm not even sure how many radiators I would need for such a system, nor what kind of power I would need from any pump (or perhaps even the plural - pumps?).

I'm really looking for any sort of help or suggestions at this point. I'm also interested in whether anyone would consider including the CPU or mobo in the LC system given that both aren't suffering too bad when cooled with air cooling.

More about : 1336 sli

a c 330 K Overclocking
June 19, 2012 6:36:19 PM

What was your loop consisting of before? What pump/blocks, etc? This is more experience than most people have starting out, so you have a leg-up on this.

The watercooling sticky might also help with any additional questions.
a c 78 K Overclocking
June 19, 2012 6:38:19 PM