New to Water Cooling - Need Help with Gaming PC

phalanxs

Honorable
Jun 19, 2012
Hello Everyone,

I am reaching out to the community here for some assistance with liquid cooled systems. I am not new to building computers, however, when it comes to liquid cooled systems, I am a novice. I have been conducting a lot of research over the last several weeks, mainly on Distilled water with a Silver Coil/and or PTNuke vs. Pre-mixed coolant. Each has their pros and cons, which were argued very well. As being new to the liquid coolant world, I am still undecided with which cooling solution I should use.

The main points that have been argued are:

Distilled Water with Silver Coil/PTNuke

Pros:
■No conductivity, but over time does become conductive
■More efficient in cooling than pre-mixed solution by 1-5 degrees
■Silver Coil/PTNuke is an antimicrobial and helps against growth of algae
■Cheap

Cons:
■Does not help prevent corrosion

Pre-mixed Solution

Pros:

■Helps protect against corrosion and growth of algae

Cons:
■Runs 1-5 degrees hotter than Distilled Water
■High chance to clog blocks
■Ability to cause corrosion if using mixed metals
■More expensive

It seems like a “no-brainer” to go with Distilled Water and Silver Coil/PTNuke. My only concern is my blocks are not protected against corrosion.

I called Koolance to get their opinion on Distilled Water and Silver Coil/PTNuke; since my CPU, GPU, and RAM blocks are Koolance. Surprisingly, the gentleman confirmed the pros and cons for both, but has the concern about the potential corrosion with Distilled Water. In addition, to his concern with corrosion, he said that all brands of distilled water is different, so depending on which brand you buy the results will vary.