Building Gaming PC ~ $1500. Not Sure Where to Start

kubricht

Distinguished
Dec 18, 2009
So I'm relatively new to building PC's, but I'm out of college for the next month and I have some extra cash, so I figured that I'd build a good gaming PC with my time. I currently have $1500 to spend on this PC, and I've went ahead and started looking at specs on various CPU's etc.

I guess to start off with, I plan on running off of an Intel Core i7-920/950/965 Extreme processor. Should I invest less money in the processor, or should I invest more? Technically, my budget can go up to probably around $2000.

As for the rest of the stuff, I imagine I'll need a compatible mobo with an appropriate PSU and GPU setup. What kind of graphics card would you guys recommend buying? Also, would it be advisable to run a dual GPU setup, or would I be better off going with a single GPU? I could imagine the rest of the computer would be standard, but could someone please tell me what else I need to take into account? Any suggestions would be very helpful.

Thanks a ton, guys.

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: within the next couple weeks

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: gaming, watching movies, downloading and internet browsing. standard usage

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: i already have keyboard, mouse, speakers and an OS. I will need to purchase two monitors, but that will be done outside of my 1500 price range

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: I don't have a preferred website although I've used Newegg in the past and they've worked out well

COUNTRY OF ORIGIN: United States

PARTS PREFERENCES: I will most likely be going with an Intel CPU (as stated above) and might be interested in dual GPU's

OVERCLOCKING: Maybe SLI OR CROSSFIRE: Isn't Crossfire only for AMD?

MONITOR RESOLUTION: Not sure yet