Sign in with
Your question

SSD Raid0 running Vista, advice and concerns

Last response: in Storage
a b G Storage
November 26, 2011 7:53:27 PM

Just to start out with, I am new to SSD's and needed a winter project. I just ordered 2 Intel 80GB 320 series drives from Newegg. They have a great MIR now. I would like to run them in RAID 0 and reinstall Vista Ultimate 64. I do not want to purchase a new OS, Windows 7. I would like to get some input on my concerns and also any suggestions. I know only Windows 7 supports TRIM so I do not have that at my disposal, however, from what I understand TRIM is not yet supported in a RAID regardless. So my question is, what is the recommended setup for a machine running SSD's in a RAID with Vista. I've read that the newer SSD's have a better internal garbage collector than the past models, however, not a replacement for TRIM. Will I run into performance issues with my setup over time?I've read that people with Vista periodically run the optimization software in the Intel SSD Toolbox, however, that does not support RAID either. What are your thoughts and opinions? I know there are many out there running SSD's in RAID. I am just looking to keep performance optimal. Thanks in advance for any information.
a c 119 G Storage
November 26, 2011 8:10:30 PM

I just recently put two Corsair 180gb in raid 0and had them connected to the 6gb/s sata3 ports and had some problems with stability so I connected them to the sata2 ports and now they run perfect. Windows experience index is 7.9 and I have yet to benchmark them to see the read/write speeds. The problem I ran into is the Marvell controller , it would just not cooperate with these SSD's in raid. When installed individually they were fine. Right now I am happy with the setup but on the next upgrade I will be making sure that there are Intel sata3 ports to connect to.
a b G Storage
November 26, 2011 9:36:23 PM