2500K cannot stabalize 4.5ghz?

DarkOutlaw

Distinguished
Jun 24, 2012
This is my first time overclocking so I have no clue what I am doing. I was trying to OC to 4.5ghz @ 1.35v but Prime95 would not give me an hour of stability. So last night I dialed it back to 4.4ghz @ 1.35v and Prime95 ran stable for 9hrs.

Is the CPU getting too hot? I am running a hyper 212+ with push/pull fans. I was under the impression my temps would be around 60 degrees, but they hit 72 on the forth core?

I have the voltage set @ 1.35v yet it never hit 1.35v. Is this why I cannot get a stable 4.5ghz OC?

Settings:

Multiplier 44
vcore 1.35
LLC 3
C1E disabled
virtualization disabled

zoi048.png

DarkOutlaw

Distinguished
Jun 24, 2012
I set the LLC to 5 and got instant BSOD. vcore ranged from 1.26-not sure because of the BSOD. I set the LLC to 1 and now my vcore range is 1.33-1.37, I think i may bump this down to 2 and drop my vcore to 1.33.

DarkOutlaw

Distinguished
Jun 24, 2012
Actually been holding a 4.5 clock for 2 hours now. It seems that adjusting the LLC to 2 did the trick. I am still not running at the 1.34v I set it to (running 1.30v - 1.33v) but so far so good. I am going to take a break do some gaming and what not to look at the stats, and if everything still looks good gonna let Prime95 run during the night and while I am at work. If it makes it 16+ hours ill be thrilled. Temps also seem to be improving, Core3 hit 73 at some point, but everything now is 63/68/68/66.

Edit: How did you take screenshots of your bios???

20071jr.png

DarkOutlaw

Distinguished
Jun 24, 2012
Yeah I saw that. The guide I looked at said to turn off:

1 Set overclock tuner, sometimes called differently, to manual.