Your question

2500K cannot stabalize 4.5ghz?

Tags:
  • CPUs
  • Overclocking
  • Product
Last response: in Overclocking
June 24, 2012 2:50:23 PM

This is my first time overclocking so I have no clue what I am doing. I was trying to OC to 4.5ghz @ 1.35v but Prime95 would not give me an hour of stability. So last night I dialed it back to 4.4ghz @ 1.35v and Prime95 ran stable for 9hrs.

Is the CPU getting too hot? I am running a hyper 212+ with push/pull fans. I was under the impression my temps would be around 60 degrees, but they hit 72 on the forth core?

I have the voltage set @ 1.35v yet it never hit 1.35v. Is this why I cannot get a stable 4.5ghz OC?

Settings:

Multiplier 44
vcore 1.35
LLC 3
C1E disabled
virtualization disabled

More about : 2500k stabalize 5ghz

a c 283 à CPUs
a c 110 K Overclocking
June 24, 2012 3:37:24 PM

Raise the LLC level some. That should keep the voltage from dropping so much.
m
l
June 24, 2012 5:12:02 PM

LLC was 5, so would 'up' be 4 or 2?

Are the temps something I should be worried about?
m
l
a c 283 à CPUs
a c 110 K Overclocking
June 24, 2012 5:16:36 PM

DarkOutlaw said:
LLC was 5, so would 'up' be 4 or 2?

Are the temps something I should be worried about?

Well, I was going off of you saying that it was set at 3. 5 would be what you should go with, since it's the highest.

And your temps are fine.
m
l
June 24, 2012 7:37:41 PM

I dont believe I have an option to turn Vdroop off, Asrock Z77 Extreme 4
m
l
June 24, 2012 9:15:34 PM

I set the LLC to 5 and got instant BSOD. vcore ranged from 1.26-not sure because of the BSOD. I set the LLC to 1 and now my vcore range is 1.33-1.37, I think i may bump this down to 2 and drop my vcore to 1.33.
m
l
June 24, 2012 11:39:26 PM