Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Dipping my toes into the SSD waters.. need some advice!

Tags:
  • SSD
  • Storage
Last response: in Storage
November 29, 2011 8:44:02 PM

I've been building computers for a couple of years since I retired and have done about 7 or 8 of them. I also trouble-shoot software and hardware for about half a dozen elderly friends. (Considering my age, I'm probably one of them myself.)

I've been tasked with putting together a computer for my 13-year old grandson for Christmas. He's been wanting to build one with Grandma for a long time. I've compiled a pretty fair pile of components including a 60 GB OCZ Agility 3 SSD (requested by his dad). I've been cruising websites and reading a lot, but I still have some questions.

1. Mount the SSD and the 1 TB HDD, but only connect the SSD, right?

2. Should BIOS be set to AHCI before we start the OS installation?

3. This will be a boot drive, obviously. Have a new 64-bit Windows 7 OS disk and this will be a fresh install. Install the MB drivers. Download and install the Windows Live Essentials they want on the SSD. Download and install Microsoft Security Essentials and install on the SSD. Install Malwarebytes Pro on the SSD. Cease and desist with software installation. Hook up the HDD and format with Windows 7. Install programs etc. on that drive. No Raid, right?

Please let me know if I'm totally off base here I don't want to mess up this build for the grandson. Thanks tons in advance! Pertinent (or not) info that might help:

Gigabyte GA Z68P-UD3P, four SATA III ports and four SATA II ports.
Core i7 2600
GTX 560 Ti
8 GB G-Skil RAM
Cooler Master 800 Watt PS
Seagate 1 TB HDD, SATA 6.0
OCZ Agility 3, 60 GB

More about : dipping toes ssd waters advice

a b G Storage
November 29, 2011 9:29:19 PM

Thats a very nice build, but I would really suggest going with a 120g SSD and installing applications to it.

1. Yes
2. Yes