Sign in with
Your question

Design a network: 25 pcs,

Last response: in Networking
December 11, 2009 7:29:18 AM

Hey all,
I am new user here and new to my job and my background is Software Development, Information System,
, thanks for all of your efforts,

Network Description:

We have a 4 floor building,
We want to implement a network,
The number of computers is about 20 PCs, expected to reach 28 ,

We want to implement Exchange Server, Share Point server, organize Internet access, and store all files in a file server
We have 2 medium programs that are being shared by 4 PCs each softoware,

The size of data to be transferred is small as I estimate,

What kind of Server do we need?

my manager doesn't want to pay for a $3000 - $4000 server, so I have to build my own: so do you think Intel i7 with suitable motherboard, 6 GB 1366 DDR3 Ram, with 2 hard disks : 1 tera enouh as logical RAID? do we need a phsyical RAID support
what modifications needed?

What are the best Switches in cost and effectiveness?
do we need managed ? do we need 100/1000 or 100 is enough?
what layer: 2 or 3?

Any help is apperciated!!
Thank you so much in advance!!

More about : design network pcs

December 13, 2009 3:16:56 PM

Before anything else, what's the distance between the room where the switch will be installed and the farthest PC? You definitely don't need a managed switch for such a small network. For the cost difference, going to Gigabit makes more sense.

You don't need a lot of processing power (even a P4 3.2 would meet your server requirements), but go for stability. You can buy a very good low-end server for $1500. Build it only if your boss won't blame you if it isn't as stable as it should be. You don't need RAID, but make sure that you have a dedicated disk for the OS and one for data. What OS will you use? Windows Server 2003 or Windows Server 2008?
December 14, 2009 4:42:39 PM