How big of a power supply do i need?

dakallday

Distinguished
Feb 23, 2010
I have used many PSU calculators and things like that, but i keep getting mixed results. So this is my first build, and im concerned with which power supply should i get. Im sure im getting a Corsair, but im stuck between a 750HX and a 850HX. I have one card for now, but i plan to crossfire in the future, so need help on which one i should get and how much does my current setup consume?

Setup:

CPU: Intel Core i7-920
Motherboard: Gigabyte x58a-ud3r
Ram: CORSAIR XMS3 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card: ATI HD 5850 (Planning to Crossfire in the future)
Hard Drives: Intel 40gb SSD and WD Black 1tb
Optical Drive: Lite-On DVD Burner
Fans: 5-6 fans with a Coolermaster v8 CPU cooler.

Sorry if this is a stupid question, but its my first build and i want to make sure i get whats best for my needs.

Here are the official power requirements for the ATI Radeon HD 5850 and HD 5870 video cards.

ATI Radeon™ HD5850 System Requirements:

PCI Express® based PC is required with one X16 lane graphics slot available on the motherboard

500 Watt or greater power supply with two 75 watt, 6-pin, PCI Express® power connectors.

600 Watt or greater power supply with four 75 watt, 6-pin, PCI Express® power connectors for ATI CrossFireX™ technology in dual mode.

ATI Radeon™ HD5870 System Requirements:

PCI Express® based PC is required with one X16 lane graphics slot available on the motherboard.

500 Watt or greater power supply with two, 75 watt, 6-pin, PCI Express® power connectors.

600 Watt or greater power supply with four, 75 watt, 6-pin, PCI Express® connectors for ATI CrossFireX™ technology in dual mode.

The power supply recommendations are for an entire pc system.