New Graphic card help PLEASE

singlejm

Distinguished
Dec 20, 2009
I just picked up a used sapphire hd 3870 512mb DDR4 to replace an old Nvidia geforce 8400gs. I unistalled old drivers, installed new ones, set the card in and connected it to the psu and it gets no signal input to the monitor. I no this is old hat for you guys and i have read 50 posts on other sites about theis issue. I have tried almost everything they suggested and to no avail. I am a relative noob as far as getting this indepth with computers but I do pride myself in doing extensive research before i ask a question. Maybe iI already know the answer i just need help implemeting the solution.
Anyway system specs are as follows: Pentium D 3.4ghz, 8400gs gpu, seagate 500gb 7200rpm, as rock 775dual/880 mobo, 2gb ddr2, ocz 500watt psu, HP w2007 20.1 monitor w/windows 7 ultimate . OK so i thought the mobo might not support cause card is 2.0 and mobo i believe only does express. supposedly that is not the issue. Psu should be good at 500watt and it is only a year old, so i believe total capable. Read i would need to possibly update the mobo through a new download. have no idea about that one? Reset the card 4 times probably to make sure it is sitting properly, triple checked that the psu is connected to the front of the card(old gpu didn't require that) I'm at a loss guys. I can post pics, give you more info.....Whatever you need to assist you!!!! I really want to see what this bad boy can do! Thanks in advance for all your help and suggestions. I'm truly grateful for any assistance. I know the system is a bit dated but there has got to be a way to get this to work....

singlejm

Distinguished
Dec 20, 2009
Just as a side note. Now that i put everything back in the computer like it was awaiting some responses my boot up time is WAY slower. probably from 30 sec. to 2 minutes and loading programs and games like counterstrike takes about 45 sec-to a minute where as before it took maybe 15 sec. Any thoughts?