Wirelessly stream media from computer to tv

Elizabeth71

Distinguished
Mar 14, 2010
I am not technical at all so please answer as if I'm really, really studpid. I have a desktop pc (running windows XP) in my bedroom and I want to be able to surf the internet from my plasma large screen tv in my family room. I want to do this wirelessly. What do I buy in order to do it? Also, will the range be a problem from my bedroom to the family room? Can you get the product in different ranges?
Thanks,
E

You have to understand that you’re describing two very different requirements as if they are one and the same. Using your TV as a display for your PC is completely different than streaming content from your PC to the TV. I know it sounds similar, but they’re not.

If you want to use your TV for display purpose (i.e., surf the ‘net), as long as your PC supports an output type compatible w/ an input type on your TV (composite, s-video, dvi, vga, etc.), you can project that PC's output to the TV using an appropriate cable (aame w/ audio). It may not look that great since TV resolutions are not always the best for computer output, but that’s a pretty basic capability.

If you want to do the same thing over WIRELESS, you could consider something like the Warpia Wireless USB PC to TV/Projector Display Adapter Kit.

http://www.amazon.com/Warpia-Wireless-Projector-Display-Adapter/dp/B002BH3ZDY

Essentially the same results w/ the convenience of wireless. This model requires a TV that supports VGA or HDMI (DVI with additional adapter).

The reason I included the wired option it is because compared to a wireless solution, using a cable is chump change. But if you insist on wireless, the option is available.