randomizer

Champion
IT LOOKS LIKE we were right about Fermi being too big, too hot, and too late, Nvidia just castrated it to 448SPs. Even at that, it is a 225 Watt part, slipping into the future.

The main point is from an Nvidia PDF first found here. On page 6, there are some interesting specs, 448 stream processors (SPs), not 512, 1.40GHz, slower than the G200's 1.476GHz, and the big 6GB GDDR5 variant is delayed until 2H 2010. To be charitable, the last one isn't Nvidia's fault, it needs 64x32GDDR5 to make it work, and that isn't coming until 2H 2010 now.

http://www.semiaccurate.com/2009/12/21/nvidia-castrates-fermi-448sps/

This could of course be a lower end part.

4745454b

Titan
My god, it does look that bad...

So they have a 448SP part using ~225W on a 10 layer PCB (how expensive is that? I'm no expert but I don't think most video cards use that many.) and whats up with the memory? It says they are using GDDR5, but the clock speed is wrong. 2GHz is to fast for the real speed, while its to slow for the quad pumped data transfer speed. 2GHz would make sense, but only if they are still using DDR3. The shaders run slower then whats found in the G200 and the big question remains what were they finally able to get the core running at? If A2 was only able to hit 500MHz they better hope A3 got it a lot faster. If the design called for 750MHz and you're only able to hit 500MHz, you have a big problem.

4.25CM^2? Isn't that a little big? Add in bad yields and that 10 layer board, I don't see this selling for anything cheap.

I'd love to see some info on the layers. Doing a quick search I saw the GTX260 went from 16 down to 10. What is normal for a video card? I ask for education on this matter.

Thats the worst news in all this.
Dropping the 64 SPs only means that for Tesla, yields are poor, and weve already heard from an nVidia employee saying they needed close to 100% no fault, and TSMC isnt delivering.