How does this set up Look?

Airiccampbell

Distinguished
Dec 23, 2009
Ok so here I go i figured i'd see what everyone thinks about this build. This is my very first build ever and im looking to make a high end PC for gaming. I am coming from console gaming, haha im just tired of it!!

EVGA x58 SLI ATX 1600Mhz mobo
Intel i7-920 cpu
2x 896MB BFG GTX 275oc sli
Corsair 850w PSU
3x 2GB ddr3 1600Mhz Corsair Dominator DIMM
Thermaltake Spin-q cpu cooler
Antec 902 case w/ 2 extra 120mm fans
Windows 7 64bit Home Premium
22X8X16X32 LG DVD+/-RW IDE LIGHTSCRIBE Optical Drive
Western Digital - Caviar GP 500GB Internal Hard Drive

Any criticism or suggestions would be helpful as this is my first build and im not completely sure about everything!!
Also i will have this Hooked up to a 52" Sony XBR 9

a4mula

Distinguished
Feb 3, 2009

As the others stated Nvidia is out of the question for the time being.

Dominators are a rip-off. G.Skill Trident/Ripjaws, Kingston Hyper-X... Hell Kingston Value 1033. Doesn't really matter according to most reviews. The only place you'd notice a difference is in an artificial environment (benchmark). I guess if your wallet is large enough to extend your e-peen then go for it.

Yeah... Thermaltake is well... trash. Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme (TRUE) is the way to go, you'll pay a premium for it but there's nothing out there that beats it and only one or 2 that compete at all.

Ditch the WD drive, pick up a Samsung Spinpoint F3.