Sign in with
Your question
Solved

RAID 0 Mirroring, Is it Possible?

Last response: in Storage
December 5, 2011 12:36:06 AM

I am a RAID newbie, and if you respond in this thread, please direct me to any online tutorials you find relevant and educational.

My new system which is going to be built shortly will encompass a 128GB SSD for the boot drive, 2x1TB SATA III/6.0 Drives (currently earmarked to be set up in RAID 1) for Misc Programs and permanent database and video files, and a single 2TB Drive for download/scratch and temporary files.

My question is: Is it possible and more effective to set up the 2x1TB drives as RAID 0 for additional speed, and acquire a third 1TB Drive to mirror the data content of the RAID 0 drive? The goal of these drives is integrity and speed. Do not want to be bottlenecked by the HDD during video encoding. It would be real comforting to have that 3rd 1TB drive as the mirror in this scenario.

Also, while I am sure the Motherboard I will get will have on board RAID management, I am happy to take recommendations for a PCI/E independent USER FRIENDLY RAID Controller. System will use Windows, don't hate.

Thank you in advance!

More about : raid mirroring

December 5, 2011 12:45:01 AM

And I have done my research, from what I understand I do not mean to suggest I want a RAID 1+0, I dont even need the backups from the RAID 0 disks to be simltaneous. Automated backup is more than sufficient, and I just prefer the drive to be internal. Software recomendations for this are welcome.
m
l
December 5, 2011 12:51:08 AM

You won't be able to mirror the whole RAID0 array as it will be 2TB I think you would be looking for RAID 5?

Personally I have only had bad experiences using consumer based raid cards / on-board. You gotta remember if you have a raid CARD failure you need to be able to replace the card (AFAIK you will need the exact same RAID card as the old one)