Sign in with
Your question

Need suggestions for custom loop

Last response: in Overclocking
July 4, 2012 5:25:40 AM

I am going to build a high end computer, and use a custom water loop. This is my first time doing water cooling, and I am interested in it! I have a high budget, and am looking for the best performance, but still being reasonable.

I want to water cool:

- 2x Radeon HD 7970's - I will use EK-FC7970
- i7-3930k processor (LGA 2011) - I will use EK supremacy
- ASUS Rampage IV Extreme - I will use Koolance MB-ASR4E Water Block
- RAM 4x8GB - I will use Koolance RAM-33

I need help deciding on:

- Radiators - Aqua Computer AirPlex Revolution 360/420 - will it fit in a HAF X at the top? (maybe a 140mm radiator at the back as well, but not on its own loop...)
- tubing (looking at Tygon)
- where to buy it
- coolant (good premixed, or distilled + PT nuke, silver killcoil, and dye. I want it do be red UV)
- Reservoir (thinking about a dual bay one, like koolance's dual 5.25" with the pump built in)
- Pumps
- fittings (looking at bitspower)
- DYE - which stuff is good (won't clog my system, looks good - I want RED - and what to stay away from)
- Going to use Nickel blocks - is copper better or worse?

Any suggestions, experiences, or opinions are appreciated!

ALSO: should I do all these components in series? Parallel? I have NOT decided how the loop will be setup yet, so advice is appreciated on that as well.
a c 190 K Overclocking
July 4, 2012 5:50:33 AM

First point of call is the W/c sticky up top, that will answer a few of your questions and most likely inspire a couple more :-)
Once you've gone through that, you may revise your list and we'll help where we can :-)
Moto
July 4, 2012 5:30:40 PM

Okay, read the sticky (again) and updated the list slightly. Might be more changes soon though.
Related resources
a c 190 K Overclocking
July 4, 2012 6:39:52 PM

Theres a list of sites in the sticky to shop around and get prices,